Monday, 13 June 2016


Photo courtesy of NPR

Today NPR previews some of the new summer TV series, including BrainDead, developed by the creators of The Good Wife.

The series parodies the US political system with the premise that alien bugs have infiltrated the brains of politicians and taken control of them. (What could be more timely with Donald Trump running as the Republican presidential candidate?)

As the NPR article notes, the show has to walk a tightrope between "savvy political drama and wryly funny sci-fi horror thriller" and doesn't always succeed in doing so. But if you'd like to check out this new series, it starts tonight on CBS.

.To view the NPR article, please click here.

Monday, 6 June 2016

A Review of The Thing Is by Kathleen Gerard

Once again we are pleased to host a stop in the Tribute Books Blog Tour to review Katherine Gerard's The Thing Is.

Book Summary and Buy Links

Can a woman mired deep in the throes of grief have her heart and soul rallied by a therapy dog
named Prozac who possesses supernatural wisdom and a canine Mensa IQ?

Meredith Mancuso is depressed. Ever since the death of her fiancĂ©, she has shrunk from the world. Even with her successful writing career, she's not motivated to work. When her sister, Monica, begs for a favor, Meredith wants nothing more than to say no. But she’s ultimately roped into pet-sitting an orphaned Yorkshire terrier named Prozac.

Blessed with spiritual wisdom and a high IQ, Prozac is an active pet therapy dog. To heal broken-hearted Meredith, he rallies his fan club at Evergreen Gardens, an independent living facility, where he visits each week.

Prozac and the community of resilient older folks challenged by losses of their own propel Meredith, often against her will, back into the land of the living. Meredith learns that most people carry some sort of burden, but it's still possible to find meaning, purpose, and joy—and even love—along the way.

THE THING IS—a perfect read for fans of General Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Romantic Comedy, and Dog and Pet Lovers!

Prices/Formats: $5.99 ebook, $14.99 paperback
Romantic Comedy
February 9, 2016
Red Adept

Amazon buy link

Barnes and Noble buy link

iTunes buy link

Author Bio

Kathleen Gerard writes across genres. Her work has been awarded many literary prizes and has been
published in magazines, journals, widely anthologized and broadcast on National Public Radio (NPR). Kathleen writes and reviews books for Shelf Awareness. Kathleen's woman-in-jeopardy novel, IN TRANSIT, won "Best Romantic Fiction" at the New York Book Festival.

Our Review of The Thing Is

This is a charming and innovative novel that alternates between the points of view of Meredith, a reluctant dog-sitter who is struggling with grief and loss, and Prozac, a little dog that in his present incarnation serves as a spirit guide to humans trying to cope with the personal tragedies in their lives. There is also a supporting cast of well-developed characters.

Prozac (the dog rather than the chemical) is a natural remedy to the unexpected turns that life throws each of us. He's not only instinctively wise, but also very funny.

The Thing Is will appeal to a wide audience: not only animal lovers, but also readers of supernatural fiction, romantic comedy, and inspirational works.

 Related Sites

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Kathleen Gerard's Facebook:

Kathleen Gerard's Twitter:

Kathleen Gerard's Blog:

Kathleen Gerard's Goodreads:

The Thing Is Goodreads:

The Thing Is Website:

Tribute Books Blog Tours Facebook:

The Thing Is blog tour site: